What is Whisky Anyway?


To put it simply, whisky is a spirit made from grains, using a process of distillation first developed in Asia and brought to Ireland and Scotland by monks.

Although whisky is increasingly made all over the world, no country is more associated with the drink than Scotland and that is really the main focus of this website (with the occasional diversion).

In order for a spirit to be called scotch whisky it must be made in Scotland from just three ingredients – Grain, Yeast and Water. It must be aged in Scotland for a minimum of 3 years in Oak barrels and it must be bottled at a minimum of 40% ABV.

There are five types of Scotch Whisky…

Single Malt – Distilled from 100% Malted Barley at one Distillery.

Blended Malt – A blend of Malt Whiskies made at multiple Distilleries.

Single Grain – Distilled from different Grains at one Distillery.

Blended Grain – A blend of Grain Whiskies made at multiple Distilleries.

Blended – A Blend of Malt and Grain Whiskies made at multiple Distilleries.

There are over 100 active distilleries in Scotland with more opening all the time and further afield there are distilleries in Ireland, Japan, Canada, Italy, Taiwan, India, Sweden… and of course the massive Bourbon and Whiskey industry in the USA! There has never been more whisk(e)y in production than there is now and quality has never been higher. Truly, we are living in a golden age of whisky. 

See the menu tab for more…



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s